EP92: Kier Lehman on Steely Dan's Aja (1977)

Heat Rocks
Kier Lehman

The Album: Steely Dan Aja (1977)

If you love the music on Insecure, you'll love the fact that Heat Rocks had an opportunity to sit down with the brainchild behind in. Kier Lehman, well known for his work on Insecure, Spiderman Spiderverse, Being Mary Jane, Entourage, Love Is, sat down with us to talk about the seminal 1977 album that is a tastemakers dream and beloved across generations.

Walter Becker and Donald Fagen and 36 of the best and brightest musicians and vocalists in the business assembled on the west coast to produce seven tracks which dripped with jazz, rock, punk, soul and fire!

Music writers and critics across publication and decades all agree that Aja is a masterpiece and belongs in the canon of great albums.

What happens when two music supes sit down to unpack it? Tune in to find out.

More on Kier Lehman

More on Aja

Show Tracklisting (all songs from Aja unless indicated otherwise):

  • I Got The News
  • Aja
  • Peg
  • Home At Last
  • Black Cow
  • Deacon Blues
  • Aja
  • Josie
  • Wiz Khalifa: Old Chanel
  • Peg
  • De La Soul: Eye Know
  • Lord Tariq and Peter Gunz: Uptown Baby
  • Black Cow
  • MF DOOM: Gas Drawls
  • Steely Dan: Kid Charlamagne
  • Kanye West: Champion
  • Aja
  • Home at Last
  • I Got The News
  • Peg

Here is the Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find there
If you're not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!